February Wrap Up & Mini Spoiler Free Reviews

February Wrap Up (bigbookstinyheart.wordpress.com).jpg

February wasn’t a good month for me because I didn’t read any book I liked particularly. That’s why I am going to give you guys a mini spoiler free review for the books I read in this wrap up itself.

I read three books in February.

1- Salt by Nayyirah Waheed (Goodreads Synopsis Here)

Rating: 3.5/5

One of my new year’s resolutions reading wise was to try out some poetry books. I wanted to start it off by Nayyirah Waheed because I follow her on Instagram and I love almost everything she posts there. Salt is one of her most famous and well-loved work so I decided to read that first.

Her poetry revolves around Africa, colored women and oppression. Most of it was really good. There were also some parts that I didn’t get and some repetitive poetry that wasn’t tasteful to me. Overall I liked this book and would suggest people to read it at least once.

2- Lily’s House by Cassandra Parkin (Goodreads Synopsis Here)

Rating: 2/5

I was provided a PR copy in exchange for an honest review. From the synopsis I was expecting way more from this book than it provided. The story was slow for my liking but the characters were so nicely built and the world as well. The theme of this book was very subtle, so much that you only get to know it when it is explicitly written. I did a goodreads review for this book that you can read (click here). To be honest I still think about this book a lot. The character of Lily and her house come up in my mind quite often.

3- Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven (Goodreads Synopsis Here)

Rating: I feel nothing for this book / 5

Where do I even begin about this book? One of the most disappointing reads of 2017 for me. I was expecting so much from this book especially since All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven is one of my most favorite books ever. I don’t know what happened with this one. I could feel nothing for the characters and their situations even though I can totally understand and relate to obesity and not recognizing faces. There were no emotions in this book or any feel to it at all. I read somewhere this book feels like a problem driven book rather an actual story and I am sad to admit it’s true. By the end I wasn’t even interested in how the story will unwrap. I really hope this book was just a fluke and the next book JN comes out with do justice to her abilities as seen in ATBP.

~

That was my wrap up and mini review. I hope you guys got a better insight into why I didn’t like the books I read in February. I hope yours was much better than mine. Now I have a question for you; which was the most disappointing hyped up book you read recently? Let me know in the comments below.

Till then,

Byeee xx

Find Me On Social Media: Goodreads |  Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

