REVIEW: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

*no spoilers included*

everything-everything-nicola-yoon-bigbookstinyheart

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. (synopsis: goodreads)

~

RATING: 5/5

After hearing everyone rave above this book, I was convinced I won’t like it. YA contemporary novels are usually very cliché and that’s what puts me off and I don’t pursue the genre more. I went into reading this book without any expectations and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only did this book changed my opinion on authors who are talking about diversity in contemporary novels, it showed me how it can be achieved.

Everything, Everything is written from first person POV. In the first couple of chapters we get to know our main female character Madeline and the disease she is suffering from that renders her from going outside in the world. Then we are introduced to Olly, her new neighbor and someone who is interested in becoming friends with Madeline. We have Madeline’s mother who is very strict about Madeline’s health and very cautious as a mother can be. Then we have Madeline’s nurse who is the only friend she has beside her mother. The first couple of chapters showed us all these characters and Madeline’s situation. For some reason that didn’t get me very interested in the book. It took me about 90 pages to really get into the story and once I was into it there was no going back.

Everything, Everything is so nicely writer. The story is very intriguing and makes you think how a person survives by living such a lonely life. The characters are of diverse heritage but to observe how alike they actually are was so good. All the characters have their own stories and situations too that set them apart of course and you start caring for them the more you get to know them and those situations.

I usually get very impatient with books these days and want them to end ASAP but with Everything, Everything I wanted to take my time. I wasn’t bored even for a minute after those 90 pages and was really invested in the story and how their stories would end. I don’t believe I am an adventurous person and don’t really like reading about them at length but this book made it fun.

All in all, Everything, Everthing had a very unique concept and explored important and meaningful topics that need to be address so people can understand the difference between wrong and right. It is beautifully written and have very cute illustrations through the book. It is heartbreaking and loveable at the same time and will stay with you long after you end it. I would recommend it with all my heart.

Find Me On Social Media: Goodreads |  Instagram | Twitter

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up – Big Books Tiny Heart

Leave a Reply

